Xed, Gedit, and Pluma in Mint 18

The default editor in Linux Mint 18 is Xed, a package that is based on Pluma, and which, according to Mint’s web site is meant to “…use traditional user interfaces…” and “…provide the functionality users already enjoy…” At face value, this is true, but when opening a file on my system, I quickly found it not to be the case.

The File-Open menu option pops up an “Open Files” dialogue box. My files are all located on my DataDisk partition; however, the link to this folder was nowhere to be seen in the directory tree. As an afterthought (?), the program’s developers have included a “+ Other Locations” link which displays an “On This Computer” list of locations. This is where the link to DataDisk is “hidden”.

Now, having to use additional mouse clicks to get to my set of data files is just not acceptable. (And, in my view, doesn’t accord with maintaining the user interface nor its functionality.) However, this is Linux, and there is always an alternative.

In the past, I have used Gedit extensively, so I installed this editor through the Software Manager, But, alas, the current version of Gedit suffers from the same interface woes as Xed.

Then, I recalled a brief fling with Pluma at some point in the recent past, and the fact that Xed is based on this editor. I installed Pluma and – wonder of wonders – the original user interface, with the normal set of “Places”, was once again shown on the display.

Needless to say, I now have a new default text editor for my Mint 18 test-bed!

References:

New features in Linux Mint 18 MATE
https://www.linuxmint.com/rel_sarah_mate_whatsnew.php

gedit has a new face
https://blogs.gnome.org/nacho/2014/01/15/gedit-has-a-new-face/

How to Install Gedit 3.10 on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Updated)
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2016/06/install-gedit-3-10-ubuntu-16-04-lts

This entry was posted in Applications, Mint and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Xed, Gedit, and Pluma in Mint 18

  1. minzi says:

    Xed-Edtior: How can I increase the number of documents in the list of recent files (standard=5)

    • Alan German says:

      Minzi:

      I regret that I don’t actually use Xed and so don’t know how (if) the list of recent files can be increased. Perhaps someone else reading your question will be able to help.

      Alan

  2. Mario Juárez says:

    😐 Just mount your partition under your home directory and/or add that directory to your favorites in Nemo … that’s it.

  3. Steve Bergman says:

    MATE is still the pinnacle of desktops. KDE is still awful. Unity it still awful. Gnome 3 is still the most awful of all. Gnome 3 classic is ever more the neglected stepchild. Cinnamon is still immature and clunky. And XFCE is still clunky by design. MATE is the last desktop standing. Aside from MATE, the Linux desktop has self-destructed. It’s really too bad that the Gnome 2 guys went insane.

  4. Luis González says:

    I used to use the “Snippets” plugin in gedit/pluma, but it’s not available yet (or anymore?)

    I tried copying it’s files from Pluma’s ones and changing the plugin definition syntax (“Pluma Plugin” -> “Xed Plugin”). The plugin is listed, but I have not managed to make it to work. The checkbox to activate the plugin doesn’t check and the terminal shows up some errors

  5. bootstrap says:

    The biggest hassle of all those editors for me was printing! Ouch! All I wanted to do is print some code snippets from .h and .cpp files of mine, and squeeze them down small enough so 132 characters wide fit on a single line (don’t wrap). Couldn’t get satisfaction from gedit (which has been my favorite for quite some time) partly because no matter how tiny I made the monospace font, it would not put more than about 50 text lines on each page (hence a huge nothing at the end of each page). By setting the font to 6 point and fiddling some settings I was finally able to get xed to print okay. But it really is annoying to need to change my font to 6 point in order to print anything (then need to change it back to 9 point afterwards to read and edit). To attempt to read 6-point is just too much (though possible… barely). I don’t think this was a problem with these editors, but with many applications trying to print totally screws up nicely lined up comments spaced with tab characters. I remember trying to print with the office editor, and they didn’t even have something as trivial and obvious as “tabs every 4” (or 8, or whatever). You had to set every single tab-position manually. Are you kidding me?

Leave a Reply

