Updating Linux Mint

Mint 17.2 has recently been released and I’m pretty sure I read somewhere that all I had to do was keep installing the usual series of updates and the OS would automatically be updated to the new version; however, that doesn’t seem to be happening.

I checked on my current installation using the Terminal command:

cat /etc/*release*

This confirmed that I was still running Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca. Updating to Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela is a four-step process.

(1) Run Update Manager, navigate to Edit – Upgrade to Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela, keep pressing “Continue” until the “Requirements” tab is reached and use the first control button to install mint-meta-mate.

(2) Now, check the box marked “I understand the risk. I want to upgrade to Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela” and press “Apply”.

(3) Reboot the computer (at which point the grub menu will still display Linux Mint 17.1)

(4) Use the Terminal command:

sudo update-grub

Next time the machine is booted, grub will show the (correct) option for Linux Mint 17.2

References:

What version and flavor of Mint am I running?
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=103332

Linux Mint 17.2 “Rafaela” MATE released!
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2864

This entry was posted in GRUB, Mint and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

