Asus T100 Transformer – A Cautionary Tale

This little tablet comes with Windows 8.1 installed and clearly has all the right drivers available for the OEM operating system to support the hardware. Regrettably, the same cannot be said for Linux. While various users are getting close to a working system, installing Linux on the T100 is fraught with difficulties – and some dangers!

While I have installed a number of versions of Ubuntu Linux on this machine, recently I found that the installers for a number of distros (notably Versions 15.04 beta, 14.10 and 14.04) were not completing properly. This culminated in my T100 no longer booting into grub – nor Windows. Even worse, neither F2 (setup) nor F9 (recovery) produced any flicker of life on the screen. My T100 was bricked!

I spent a couple of days trying to revive the tablet to no avail. It required a trip to an Asus service centre for major surgery.

The machine was returned restored to factory settings, and was soon back running Windows 8.1. However, I am afraid that I have lost considerable faith in the T100’s ability to support Linux, and I’m not sure that I want to continue the experiment on this hardware platform. In my view, one shouldn’t be able to crash a machine beyond the point of normal recovery simply by installing software, but it would appear that I may have managed this on the T100.

So, for now at least, I plan to take a break from playing with Linux on the T100. For those of you who are braver, the Asus T100 Ubuntu Google+ group is working hard to make things happen. So, check out their web site (https://plus.google.com/communities/117853703024346186936) for current details. For now, I will be lurking on the site to see how things progress!

This entry was posted in Asus T100, Installation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asus T100 Transformer – A Cautionary Tale

  1. tr3w says:

    Don`t give up, just install linux to a pendrive and use that until we will have a fully working system…

  2. eluvangal says:

    I forgot to change the contents of the boot partition of the 64-bit ISO file (Ubuntu Gnome 15.04), and booted from the USB. Now I have a t100 that, when turned on, shows the light come on, but does nothing else. It’s not totally dead, as I can turn it on and off, but nothing else works. The USB port does not supply power to peripherals either.

  3. eluvangal says:

    I took it to the Acer service center. They said, since it doesn’t boot, they can’t help me with it.

    • Alan German says:

      Do you have an Acer or an Asus machine? My only experience is with an Asus Transformer T100. However, I would have thought that any manufacturer ought to be able to repair their product – by resetting the embedded software or even replacing one of the chips.

Leave a Reply

